Skip to content

Adventures in Gluten-Free Slow Cooking, Part I

17 January 2014

There are two important things you need to know about me before you read this post.

  1. I’m a baker, NOT a cook. Too much can go wrong. Baking is PRECISE and I like it.
  2. I’m very lazy.

That’s better. So since I’m eating gluten-free and dairy-free again (finally.. some other time I will tell you about how terrible I felt and how much weight I gained – HINT: IT WAS ALL THE WEIGHT I LOST), I’ve needed to cook on my own more often. Which is why I spent two months existing on salsa chicken and soy mochas. But then I discovered that there are a million and one gluten-free slow cooker recipes and most of them can be modified to be dairy-free too. So here’s some good recipes for you to try.

Rubies & Radishes’ Slow Cooker Chorizo Mashed Yams

Probably my favorite so far. I made it for my book club and everyone loved it. It’s nicely spicy from the chorizo but kind of mellowed out by the sweet potatoes. You’ll notice that the recipe doesn’t really call for much seasoning. Because it doesn’t need any. Also it involves minimal prep (VERY IMPORTANT) and the recipe is easy to double if necessary. I actually made it two days in a row because it was so easy and delicious. And I wanted more.

Frugal Upstate’s Overnight Crock Pot Oatmeal

This recipe SAYS it makes 4 servings of oatmeal, but I get way more, which is perfect to portion out and bring to work every morning. Here are my recommendations: 1) Obviously if you’re GF, use GF steel cut oats. 2) Leave out the milk, just add an extra half cup of water. Then I add coconut milk creamer when I heat it up. 3) Personal preference: skip the cinnamon and brown sugar. I add brown sugar to my oatmeal anyway, so I don’t need the extra.

Everyday Paleo’s Beyond Easy Pulled Pork

Pulled pork sandwiches are one of my all-time favorite foods (gluten, take me back) but obviously I’m not eating this on a roll. I like the idea of serving it over vegetables, but honestly I’ve only ever eaten it by itself because pulled pork. I briefly considered making this Tomato and Spice Pulled Pork but like I said, minimal prep. Also, gluten-free dairy-free recipes often end up being ~paleo which is whatever. P absolutely loved this recipe – I had a hard time getting him to stop picking at it so I could put it away!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 January 2014 8:35 am

    Ohhh thanks for the recipes. I’m making that chorizo one this week for sure.

Join the discussion!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

