Skip to content

GSD

14 January 2014

Because something in my brain really likes lists and goals, I’ve read a lot of Zen Habits and Tim Ferriss and Marc & Angel. And if you have too, you probably know the acronyms GTD and ZTD (Getting Things Done and Zen To Done, respectively). Well, this post is about GSD (Getting Shit Done). Also, I’m going to say “shit” a lot in this post so if you’re going to pretend to be offended, plz go away now.*

Let me preface this by saying that I’m not typically into this nerdy shit. I like plenty of nerdy shit, but RPGs and cards games… that’s a bridge too far. Scary accurate recall of details of Lord of The Rings is about as deep into nerd shit that I get.

But the point is please don’t let the “RPG” part scare you off. HabitRPG is plain awesome. I’ve been using it for about a week now and I don’t think I’ve ever been more productive.

The idea behind HabitRPG is to turn your to-do list into a game. The official description from the HabitRPG Twitter: “A self-improvement app which uses game mechanics, such as leveling and hit points, to motivate players to live healthy and productive lives.”

You have 3 lists: Habits (routines you’re trying to break or create, like “spend less time on Facebook”), Dailies (things you do or want to do every day, like “drink a gallon of water”), and To-Dos (self explanatory – your to-do list of things that don’t go in Habits or Dailies).
Every time you check something off a list, you’re rewarded with experience and gold. Every day that you DON’T check items off your list (like when I haven’t drank a full gallon of water in a day ever), you lose health. When you get enough gold, you can buy Rewards (either gear for your little avatar, or rewards you come up with, like Starbucks or an episode of your favorite show), and when you get enough experience, you level up.
THE BEST PART is that it’s social – if you want it to be. P and a few of our friends are in a “party” together, which means that their avatars show up at the top of my page, showing me what level they are and how much experience they have. It’s an awesome motivator. You can also join challenges to push yourself to form good habits or break bad ones.
There are tons of other awesome things that I haven’t mentioned (like pets! Browser extensions! Possible Fitbit integration!) and probably a bunch of awesome shit I haven’t even discovered yet. So if you need help getting shit done, go try HabitRPG and maybe even invite me to your party. Also, as usual, no one is paying me to say nice things. I just really like HabitRPG and thought you might too.

* Preferably to work on a version of cloud to butt that replaces all the “shit”s in this post with a word of your choosing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy permalink
    14 January 2014 10:41 am

    This kindof reminds me of Superbetter.com. I was introduced through a TedTalk. LOVE those.

    • 17 January 2014 7:39 am

      I’ve been trying to listen/watch one TED Talk every day. Gonna have to find the SuperBetter one now! :)

Join the discussion!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

